phapulous

Living life being phapulously me!!

Buyers Remorse? April 30, 2012

Filed under: Food For Thought — p.h.a.p.ulous @ 9:43 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You know the feeling you get after you made a splurge of a purchase.  You feel knots in your stomach and anxiety all over for doing something you know you should not have.  But you just had to have it.  You know what I’m talking about, that new Chanel bag or that new tech gadget.  Of course it was not a necessity, but something inside you just had to have it.  The rational side of you told yourself to run, not walk away as fast as you can.  However the impulsive side of you keeps you circling that prized possession you have to conquer.  You have an internal debate and impulse wins over and you make the purchase for this thing you absolutely do not need.  On the drive home it sinks in-buyers remorse.  You feel bad about being so impulsive and irresponsible.  You chastise yourself and promise to return the thing first thing tomorrow.

This got me to thinking if buyer’s remorse applied to more than purchases of the local fads.  Do we make impulsive decisions that impact us forever.  Do we impulsively jump into a relationship just to be in one, even though that little voice inside is saying slow down?  Only to find out a few weeks or months later that this person was not really what you expected.  The same can be applied to our professional lives.  Do you rush to take a job for the money even though deep inside you know it will not be fulfilling?  You then feel trapped or stuck because the big bucks you make have caused you to be more impulsive in purchasing things.  So you have to remain trapped to nurture your impulsive habits.

I have reflected over some of the decisions that I have made in my life.  I can honestly say the majority of the “good” outcomes came from well thought out decisions.  Most of my impulsive choices resulted in disastrous results.  Those disastrous results came with very valuable lessons that I have kept and applied to my life.  However as I get older and hopefully wiser, I am learning to keep a tight reign on the impulsive tug inside me.  But sometimes I wonder if the reign is so tight that I am becoming dull and boring.  Can you still be fun and rational?

 

One Response to “Buyers Remorse?”

  1. Al.Erin Says:

    Nice Post. I do think it’s true that we can get so excited by things that we ignore the little voice telling us not to proceed – whether a purse, a house or a relationship. It’s always important to listen to your intuition/gut/guardian angel. Usually it won’t steer you wrong. Taking a day or more to consider something is usually worthwhile.
    I’ve been thinking about spontaneity; I tend to be much more spontaneous, but lately I’ve been thinking that more scheduling would be good. I believe I miss out on things I want/need to do because I allow my time to be taken at random. I actually think that being scheduled will make me more fun than I’ve been lately. Kind of funny when you think about it =)


Leave a Reply

